PIANO SOLO "ESSENCE OF"

 

It was at sixteen when he started the piano "I was bored at home. There was my sister's study piano who had lessons at the conservatory. I got into it as an autodidact." Three months later, the teenager born February 14, 1979 is on stage playing "Little Flower" at the high school party. “Old-fashioned jazz, it was explosive !" The first steps in music already tell a lot about the career of this musician. Xavier Harry also made meetings in particular with Antoine Hervé, with whom he will take a weekly lesson for six years. “I learned the excellence of the piano, a technical requirement, an awareness of sound… He opened the doors of my mind." In his sources of inspiration, one cannot miss the importance of Michel Petrucciani," the pianist who made me want to do this profession ", of Malavoi, Alain Jean-Marie, Mario Canonge or even d 'Eddy Louiss. “The latter really marked me. I took up some of his themes on stage! "

 

 

 

Aquarelle de Xavier Harry par Annie-Claire Alvoët

© Annie-Claire Alvoët

Twenty years after his debut, it is therefore time for this pianist to come together, to be able to recompose the puzzle of his personality. Or rather to sketch a self-portrait in the form of a solo piano. Four days in the studio, time to take care to listen to the pulse of the Fazioli 280, its eighty-eight keys in black and ivory ...

 

In this new album, which he considers the third part of a trilogy, the fan of Keith Jarrett asserts himself as a composer and improviser, with the same gesture. “Originally it was an eight movement suite, including two rewrites of the classics 'Whisper Not' and 'You Don't Know What Love Is'. For the record, I chose to keep the six originals. Although very written, the repertoire nevertheless leaves room for the imagination, with punctuations developed in improvised suspensions. When the left hand is deep, the right can go out of the melodic clear line, to illuminate other traits of this personality. We think of Rachmaninoff and especially of Chopin's precision, this sense of a balanced inflection, this dreamlike breath ...

By telling himself in complete privacy, by going to the depths, the pianist reveals another facet of his personality. “Melancholy represents for me a state which allows me to express deep things. It allows me to immerse myself in a world that is both sensitive and poetic. This is what emerges when I sit alone front oh the piano. I needed to express this feeling, undoubtedly linked to being uprooted, to a childhood between two worlds… a certain sadness that inhabits me". This is why he chose this title, Essence, which was inspired to him by reading Glenn Gould.

Aquarelle de Xavier Harry par Annie-Claire Alvoët

Of this word, which has different meanings, he retains the philosophical reading. “Alone in the face of music, I can immerse myself 1000% in what I am, who I am… For me, it was about going to the heart of the soul." The solo, he hears it like a dialogue with the piano, his alter go. "You become one with the music, you leave your body." Body and soul… As the most echo of this advice given during a master class of Banlieues Bleues by the Zen master of the piano that was the immense Mal Waldron. “I asked him how it was possible to integrate music into our life as a musician. He replied to me a sentence that I have never forgotten: “Music is life and life is music”. This sentence made me understand that music is also a philosophical path. More than the diminished chords, and all the technical paraphernalia, the essential is elsewhere… ”Let's call it spirituality.

© Annie-Claire Alvoët

PIANO SOLO "ESSENCE OF"

 

 

C’est à seize ans, qu’il a eu le déclic « Je m’ennuyais chez moi. Il y avait le piano d’étude pour ma sœur qui était au conservatoire. Je m’y suis mis en autodidacte. » Trois mois plus tard, l’adolescent né le 14 février 1979 est sur scène en train de jouer “Petite Fleur” à la fête du lycée. « Du jazz à l’ancienne, ça détonait ! » Les premiers pas dans la musique racontent déjà beaucoup de la carrière d’un musicien. Ceux de Xavier Harry se sont aussi faits de rencontres notamment avec Antoine Hervé, avec lequel il prendra une leçon hebdomadaire pendant six ans. « J’ai appris l’excellence du piano, une exigence technique, une conscience du son… Il a ouvert les portes de mon esprit. » Dans ses sources d’inspiration, on ne peut manquer l’importance de Michel Petrucciani, « le pianiste qui m’a donné envie de faire ce métier », de Malavoi, d’Alain Jean-Marie, de Mario Canonge ou encore d’Eddy Louiss. « Ce dernier m’a vraiment marqué. J’ai repris certains de ses thèmes sur scène ! »

 

 

 

Dessin Annie-Claire Alvoët

Vingt ans après ses débuts, il est donc l’heure pour ce pianiste de se rassembler, de pouvoir recomposer le puzzle de sa personnalité. Ou plutôt d’esquisser un autoportrait en forme de solo. Quatre jours en studio, le temps de prendre le soin d’écouter le pouls du Fazioli 280, ses quatre-vingt huit touches en noir et ivoire…

 

Dans ce nouvel album, qu’il considère comme le troisième volet d’une trilogie, le fan assumé de Keith Jarrett s’y affirme compositeur et improvisateur, d’un même geste. « A l’origine il s’agissait d’une suite en huit mouvements, dont deux réécritures des classiques “Whisper Not” et “You Don’t Know What Love Is”. Pour le disque, j’ai choisi de garder les six originaux de ma plume. » Certes très écrit, le répertoire laisse néanmoins la place à l’imagination, de ponctuations développées en suspensions improvisées. Quand la main gauche se fait grave, la droite peut sortir de la ligne claire mélodique, pour l’illuminer d’autres traits de cette personnalité. On songe à Rachmaninov et surtout à la précision de Chopin, à ce sens de l’inflexion soupesée, à ce souffle onirique…

En se racontant en toute intimité, en allant au plus profond, le pianiste dévoile une autre facette de sa personnalité. « La mélancolie représente pour moi un état qui me permet d'exprimer des choses profondes. Ça me permet de me plonger dans un monde à la fois sensible et poétique. C’est ce qui ressort lorsque je m’assois seul. J’avais besoin d’exprimer ce sentiment, sans doute lié au déracinement, à une enfance entre deux mondes… une certaine tristesse qui m’habite. » Voilà pourquoi il a choisi ce titre, Essence, qui lui a été inspiré par la lecture de Glenn Gould.

De ce mot, qui revêt différents sens, il retient la lecture philosophique. « Seul face à la musique, je peux me plonger à 1000 % dans ce que je suis, qui je suis… Pour moi, il s’agissait d’aller au cœur de l’âme. » Le solo, il l’entend tel un dialogue avec le piano, son alter go. « Tu fais corps avec la musique, tu quittes ton corps. » Body and soul… Comme le plus écho à ce conseil prodigué lors d’une master class de Banlieues Bleues par le maître zen du piano qu’était l’immense Mal Waldron. « Je lui avais demandé comment il était possible d’intégrer la musique dans notre vie de musicien. Il m’avait répondu une phrase que je n’ai jamais oubliée : “La musique, c’est la vie et la vie, c’est la musique.” Cette sentence m’a fait comprendre que la musique est aussi un chemin philosophique. Plus que les accords diminués, et tout l’attirail technique, l’essentiel est ailleurs… » Appelons ça la spiritualité.

Dessin Annie-Claire Alvoët